Cooking, cooking and a lil baking…

So. I started my new job. For the time being its requiring a commute that adds up to about 3 hours everyday. Its and early start and I’m fairly late arriving home so I’m still trying to find a way to keep daily excercise in my routine but I am most determined to keep all my new good food habits up.

Keeping this up means at the moment preparing lots of meals on Sunday night so they are just a quick grab out of the fridge.

For breakfast I make a big frittata, its super easy, super fast and uses up random ingredients from the fridge. I also find it a nice, hearty protein meal that keep me full for ages.

SPEEDY FRITTATA

  • 6-8 eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • goats cheese
  • 2 portebello mushrooms chopped (or sometimes I grate a zucchini or add strips of smoked salmon)
  • chopped chives to taste

1. Whisk eggs and milk together

2. Add other ingredients and mix  in

3. Put mixture into ovenproof dish, cover with lid or foil and put into 200 degree oven. Cook for about 15mins or until the egg mixture appears cooked at the top. Uncover and brown the top in the oven for a few minutes.

Image

I have always found what snacks to eat a bit of a challenge. There are only so many almonds I’m happy to chow down during one day, and I can’t eat raw vegies (story for another time!). I found this great little recipe Sugar Free, Low Carb Coconut Raspberry muffins. I love them.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

